Yard 2

Molly and I started planing down the yard tonight. We were knocking the rough cuts off the sides to bring it down to a smooth, square 1.5″ when I noticed a few cracks in the wood that I hadn’t spotted during the quick rough cut. I’m hoping these faults will be removed when we round it off. I still want to build a spar gauge and a couple of chucks to hold the spars at a 45 degree angle to make it easier to plane the corners down. I think we’ll plane both down to the smooth square shapes and then build those tools before continuing. Only spent about 15 minutes on it tonight but school has already been released early tomorrow and if the snow comes in we might have some extra time to work on them in from of the fire.

Leave a Reply

