Adventures in wood shopping

The mast is supposed to be 2″ square tapering down to 1.5″. I was originally going to build this up from a common 2×4 which is really only 1.5″ and then laminate two pieces of 1/4″ plywood to each side. The problem with this is that it’s hard for me to get a 4’x8′ sheet of plywood home easily. Tonight I realized I could buy 3 pieces of 5/4″x3″x8′ into a 12′ long 2″x2.5″ real dimension stick with good overlaps. So with snowfall pending I headed off to the store with the Prius in search of some 5/4″ lumber. Well, Lowe’s only carries 5/4″x4″x12′ Southern Yellow Pine sticks. Okay, I can laminate 2 of those together and cut them down to get a nice 2″x2″ real dimension stick for the mast. A little searching through the pile and $25 later and I had two nice 12′ boards. 12′ boards do not fit in the back of a Prius. I had to drive home the back roads with the tail gate open. The sleet had begun to fall, but we made it home without incident and now have more project work to do in case tomorrow is a snow day.

Total time: 12 hours
Total cost: $317

Leave a Reply

