Mast partner and step mounted

Today I finished shaping the mast partner and step. I epoxied the two pieces of the step together. I glued and bolted the partner to the bulkhead. When the epoxy was tacky on the step, I slathered on more thickened epoxy on the bottom, set it in place and screwed it in from the bottom (more holes in the boat). When it’s dry I’ll back out the screws and fill the holes. I also glued and screwed a piece of 1×4 SYP into the back of the boat to be a reinforcement for the rudder mounting.

Mast partner and step in the boat

Mast partner and step in the boat

 

Total time: 54 hours
Total boat cost: $487
Total tools cost: $200

Leave a Reply

