Paint!

Well, primer really, no paint quite yet. Spent about 4 hours today putting two coats of primer on the boat. The girls helped quite a lot on the first coat. I dressed them in my old T-shirts for painting and they stayed remarkably paint free. I was quite surprised. I did the second coat this afternoon while they are off at a birthday party. We painted the whole interior and the exterior sides. We got two coats of primer on the fore and aft decks and a second coat of pimer on the oar blades. I still need to go find paint pens so the girls can decorate the oars. I bought an extra gallon of Kilz since the first one we already had ran out and a quart of spar varnish.

First coat of primer

First coat of primer

On to the aft air box

On to the aft air box

Interior complete

Interior complete

Second coat done

Second coat done

 

I still need to build the hatch covers, the dragon and then the sail. The rudder pieces need a second coat of primer as well. I’ll be getting my next shipment of lead from Shawn this week. I’ll finish pouring the lead in the leeboard and give that a layer of fiberglass. We should have no trouble making a May launch.

Total time: 65 hours
Total boat cost: $534
Total tools cost: $200

Leave a Reply

