First solo sail

Today the girls were headed to a birthday party, so I got my first solo sail on the Terror. It was a beautiful, sunny day. Humidity was low and the temps were around 80.  I got to the boat ramp at 10:55 and timed my set up. The Day Sailer takes me around 25 mins to set up. I had the boat unloaded, set up, the car parked, bathroom break, dog loaded and on the water by 11:05. At the 25 mins mark where I would normally just be underway we were already 1/3 of the way across the lake. The winds were pretty light today, but a few times it blew pretty well for a few minutes and the boat really seemed to jump up and start moving. According to the gps on the phone we hit 4.43 mph at one point. I thought we almost hit the same speed on the way back, but according to the chart we didn’t break 4mph again. I’m wondering if some weak gps signals were messing with the data a bit. We logged more than 5 miles today up the lake.

solo sail

solo sail

6/1/14 stats

6/1/14 stats

speed stats

speed stats

the picture from the pin at the halfway point

the picture from the pin at the halfway point

Leave a Reply

