Thole Pins

After several good trial runs of the Terror, I finally got the thole pins installed this weekend. Rowing was difficult with the sail and yards down on the boat so I wanted the thole pins raised up above the sides where they were attached with the clamps previously. I decided to make them out of oak. I bought a 1×4″ board 6 feet long. I ripped it down to 1.25″ pieces. Then I layered up 3 pieces 8″ long with another 2 pieces 4″ long. I used an 8″ carriage bolt as the thole pin. I’m pleased with how the oak came together. I almost feel like I could start doing some real wood working for the next boat.

elevated thole pin

elevated thole pin

oar tied on

oar tied on

wpid-20140622_195813.jpg

looking toward the front of the boat. the oar pulls against the rope instead of the pin.

the oar clears the rolled up sail with room to spare

the oar clears the rolled up sail with room to spare

Can’t wait to get it on the water again to try them out.

Leave a Reply

