Glue Work

Tonight I spent about 15 minutes working on the boat, but even that little bit makes me enormously happy. It’s kind of ridiculous how smearing a little wood glue on 6 pieces of 3/8″ SYP and clamping can inspire grand visions of riding across the waves, but sometimes it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

Glue!

Glue!

My friend Matt gave me a bunch of these strips of Southern Yellow Pine that were 3/8″ by 3/4″ which he used to build a beautiful Melonseed. I needed some 3/4×3/4″ strips as nailing blocks for connecting the plywood pieces in the Totos, so tonight I started gluing the strips together to make the needed dimensions. I’m using Titebond 3 for this build and I’ve got a gallon of the stuff which should last through the next boat or three as well. Once these are ready I can start preparing the bulkheads.

Next Steps:

  1. Finish joining all the panels
  2. Finish gluing the SYP strips
  3. Build bulkheads

Hours: .25/9.25

Leave a Reply

