First Fillets

Another cloudy, drizzly winter day, but it started out pretty warm. It was above 50F when I went out this morning to get to work on the fillets. I spent a good bit of time setting up my epoxy station. I wanted everything neat and orderly to avoid getting sticky goop everywhere. I started using the Marinepoxy today which is a 2:1 mixture. I did 4 small batches. The first batch was 3 oz resin, 1.5 hardener. The second and third batches were 4 oz and 2 oz. The final batch was a small 2 oz and 1 oz. I’m using fine sawdust as a thickener. I really could have used a larger radius fillet stick for rounding out the thickened epoxy as I don’t think I got quite as much epoxy into the corners everywhere as I’d like. I might make some custom fillet sticks for the next job. I mixed the epoxy in wax lined paper coffee cups and then spooned it into ziplock bags with the corners cut like small cake frosting piping. That kept everything pretty neat. I went back in and cleaned up the fillet edges to remove the extra that squeezes out. That should help cut down on the sanding too.

first fillets

first fillets

One evening this week I’ll have to get the gunwales epoxied together. It was nice to get the boat work done early today. Despite the drizzly weather, Molly and I got in a nice afternoon hike at the Eno. Nothing beats being outside near water even if it’s not in a boat.

Molly at Bobbit's Hole on the Eno

Molly at Bobbit’s Hole on the Eno

Hours: 2.5/26

3 thoughts on “First Fillets

  1. This looks nice! That’s one clean epoxy job. I’m new to stitch and glue boatbuilding, so maybe this is obvious, but is there a reason you don’t epoxy over the stitches?

    • This is my first stitch and glue project too and only my second epoxy boat. If you epoxy over the stitches it would make it harder to remove them. I will probably try to get a bit closer to the stitches on the next one. On this boat the build order calls for removing the stitches, flipping the hull, sanding down the seams (adding epoxy if required) and then fiberglass taping the exterior seams. Then you flip the boat again, remove the temporary forms, fillet the gaps and fiberglass tape the interior seams.

      • Makes sense. I’d seen another build where they just clipped the stitches flush to the outer hull and sanded smooth, leaving the inner part of the stitch in place. I suppose it doesn’t make much difference if you have to turn it back over to do the gaps left by the temp forms anyway.

Leave a Reply

