Gunwale epoxy

Bitter cold temperatures for NC. It was 10F this morning leaving for work. Not conducive to working in an exposed car port. I brought the gunwales inside and epoxied the first set together tonight. I’ll get the others done this weekend and hopefully get the first set on the boat this weekend. To join the scarf I first painted on unthickened epoxy on both sides. While that sat for a bit I added fine saw dust to the remaining epoxy to thicken it. Then I painted that on one side. I pressed the scarf faces together and clamped them between  two spare boards. I made sure there was a sheet of wax paper between them so I didn’t accidentally bond them all together.

gunwales epoxied

gunwales epoxied

Leave a Reply

