Scarfing gunwales

I couldn’t take not working on the boats, so I hauled the epoxy supplies and the 4 gunwale sticks down to the family room. It feels good to get anything done on the boat. I mixed up 1.5 oz of epoxy and gave both faces of the scarf a coating of unthickened epoxy. Then I mixed sawdust into the epoxy until it thickened up a little past mayo consistency and brushed that on one face. Then I clamped the two pieces together with some scrap wood using wax paper in between so I didn’t glue my scrap wood to my gunwales. I think tomorrow I might start piecing boat number two together.

Round 2 of Gunwale Scarfing

Round 2 of Gunwale Scarfing

Hours: 0.5/44

Leave a Reply

