Nearing the end

Yesterday I cut the hatch for the rear deck. I went with a 12″x12″ set 2″ back from the inside edge of the boat. Then I cut down a 2×4 I had on hand into 1.5″ x 3/4″ strips. I then cut these strips into pieces to frame out the opening.

hatch framing ready

hatch framing ready

I also cut a piece of oak to use as the front brace and got that installed with glue and stainless steel washers and screws.

brace installed

brace installed

 

Today I glued all the hatches pieces together and finished putting a coat of epoxy on all the interior and the gunwales.

Epoxy coated

Epoxy coated

hatch glued & screwed and epoxy coated

hatch glued & screwed and epoxy coated

Last steps for this boat are to finish the hatch top, epoxy coat the rest of the hatch and give everything a light sanding. Then it’s paint and varnish time!

Hours: 4/50

Leave a Reply

