More great adventures and a new build

It’s really been a great summer for boating adventures. The Cape Lookout trip really kicked it off in May. Then in June we put the Toto on top of the car and drove up to visit friends in NJ. We paddled around on the Shark River there and then drove up to visit family in CT. In CT I paddled around on Burr Pond which was a lot smaller than I remembered from my youth! Ha.

A few weeks later at the end of June we went camping at Kerr Lake. Setting up the tents it was crazy windy and our tent broke. It was tied up to a tree all weekend. We had an amazing thunderstorm one night. I was barefoot for 48 hours. Sunday morning the wind really kicked up and it was the best sailing of the year.

The Terror at Kerr Lake

The Terror at Kerr Lake

The Toto at Kerr Lake

The Toto at Kerr Lake

 

A few weeks ago we had another camping adventure to Shackleford Banks. We drove down to Beaufort Friday afternoon and camped in a friend’s back yard. Saturday morning we launched from the wildlife ramp on Front Street. There was no wind so we ended up dropping the sail and rowing out. We spent a lot of time rowing and wading near and through the grass islands on the way out to Shack. Along the way we saw a beautiful jellyfish and a small sea turtle. I’m constantly amazed at how much life there is at the beach. We small small snails by the billions, tons of crabs, lots of fish and birds.

fiddler crab

fiddler crab

 

Molly and I went hiking through the interior to try to find some wild horses. We made it through to the ocean side and saw a lone horse in the dunes. It was a long, hot hike through some rough terrain and I had my first run in with chiggers. Yuck! Boy did that itch like crazy. Several weeks later I still have a few scabs.

The wind finally did come up and I went out for a sail and promptly ripped the grommet out of the throat of the sail. Drop sail and back to rowing. Fortunately Matt had some gorilla tape, needles, thread and awl.

Sail repair

Sail repair

low tide sand flats

low tide sand flats

playing at Shack

playing at Shack

It was crazy hot and humid with no wind at night. Between the chigger bites and the heat I barely slept. Sunday morning was a beautiful dawn with a nice breeze. We had a nice sail back to Taylor’s Creek, but once we arrived the tide was ripping through. The current was too strong for sailing or rowing, but some friendly folks gave us a tow back to the ramp. It was nice to get a cool shower before heading back home.

 

We also sold the Spindrift Day Sailer, so I’ve been debating what boat to build next. Some boats under consideration have been a Michalak Ladybug and an Oughtred Arctic Tern. I’ve weighed the pros and cons of all of them and finally decided that time and finances dictate going back to my original plan of building a Michalak Piccup Pram. It’s small and easy to build, but should perform better and have more storage than the puddle duck. When I built the Terror I used the sail plan of the Piccup so I can easily swap in the mast and sail which saves time and money too. In the mean time, I’ve finally started assembly of Toto #2. I had originally planned to build both of them side by side at the same time, but I didn’t really have enough room, so the parts have been lying around the carport for months. Fortunately they haven’t been damaged by kids walking on them, etc and they are finally on the way to becoming a boat.

Toto #2

Toto #2

Here she is with sheer planks attached to temporary forms and transom and main bulkhead glued and screwed in place. Today I’ll glue up the nose. Tomorrow I’ll flip it and install the bottom plank.

Leave a Reply

