Roof rack and boat fairing

I can’t afford a $400+ roof rack for the Prius to hold my 35lb kayak so I decided to build my own. My version cost under $25. I bought an 8′ 2×6 and cut it to the shape of the roof of the car. Then I attached a couple of crossbars of some atlantic white cedar that a friend gave me. A quick sanding and 3 coats of oil based Rustoleum and this is what it looks like so far:

roof rack

roof rack

overhang

overhang

straight on

straight on

I’m going to let the paint dry for a week or so and then I’m going to glue a garage door gasket under the side bars that sit on the roof. After that it’s time to strap on the kayak and see how it all fits.

A while back I bought 1.5 qt of System 3 QuickFair from Duckworks for $43 and I had never used it much. I decided to really give it a go at smoothing out the curves on Toto #2. I mixed up a batch this morning and it went on very nicely. Then after lunch I mixed up another batch and started filling holes and grooves and the batch kicked on me. I ended up losing about half of it. I didn’t get it laid out quickly enough. As with any epoxy product, it pays to mix up small batches and work quickly.

The results look a little rough at the moment, but should sand down nicely.

Epoxy putty in place

Epoxy putty in place

We’ve got friends coming over for dinner so I probably won’t get to sanding it until later this week. With the fairing putty I think this hull will look a lot nicer than the first try. Once it’s sanded down it’ll be time for fiberglassing.

Leave a Reply

