Skeg

My friend, Matt, gave me a nice piece of white oak when cleaning out his shop the other day. It was a full inch thick and maybe 4″ wide. I cut it down to 3/4″ and traced out the curve of the rear of the boat. I then tried to cut it with the jigsaw, but that oak was so hard I couldn’t get a decent cut. The blade kept bending and coming out the side. I decided to go old-school on it and busted out the small hand plane and then the larger jack plane. A short time later I had a small pile of shavings on the floor and a nicely fitting skeg. I sanded it down with the orbital sander to finish out this cold, windy day in the shop. Now I just need to drill some pilot holes and wait for it to warm back up a bit to do the epoxy work.

20151219_145221.jpg

Leave a Reply

